The Joy of Pruning

DSC_0008

Dama de Noche (Cestrum Nocturnum) is such a plant which can benefit from a good pruning, It grows like wildfire and can get messy pretty fast. The blooms which carry the fabulous scent has a short lifespan and needs to be deadheaded to allow bushing and to encourage new flowers to develop. The cuttings of new growth can be propagated quite easily.

Of all the activities I do while gardening, pruning gives me the most satisfaction. I do it so often and I cut so mercilessly that I now have a rather low and bushy grove of container plants – It’s obsessive compulsive really. In the times that I don’t have new plants to pot up or I don’t have anything to do, I walk to my plot armed with a pair of scissors ready to do some well-intentioned snips.  My pruning habit has become so severe that I might just wake up one day having cultivated a garden of bonsais. Exaggeration aside, pruning – whether for deadheading flowers, removing damaged foliage, or simply shaping  is an important step in plant maintenance and is essential to keep plants in order.

I know pruning can be daunting to sentimental gardeners who feel like pruning reduces the plants they have lovingly tended but in truth pruning overall does wonders for the plants. It essentially encourages branching and diverts the plant’s energy into producing more flowers or foliage. It does visually reduce the pants but if you can get past that initial shock and look forward with patience, you will be amazed at how lush and full your plants can turn out to be.

DSC_0046

Pothos (Epipremnum aureum) or this particular variety – golden pothos is lovelier when made to grow thick and full. This can only be achieved through pruning regularly. 

As a general rule of thumb, you can prune your plants in these instances: Deadhead spent flowers – this will clean up your plant of dried blooms and encourage new blossoming in a few weeks time. Cut dried or damaged foliage – this more maintenance to keep everything that’s green and loose dried foliage which could start rot. Lastly, prune to shape your plants – keep them in line by cutting back your plants to encourage bushing and to keep them from going haywire.

Another guideline I must add is cut above a leaf node – the place where leaves come out from the stem, new growth emerge from these areas.  I could never bring myself to prune back my beloved plants myself, but I console myself by replanting the cut ends into small planters to propagate them. This takes the burn out and opens up more plants for your garden or for giving away. Upon rooting, I give these out to friends as gifts to tend themselves.

DSC_0009

Console yourselves by replanting the cuttings into smaller pots – this way its not really a sad reduction but an opportunity for propagation.

A disclaimer though, before making topiaries out of your plants, read up first. Each plants may react differently to pruning and the internet is a great resource for this. Your observations and scientific knowledge should guide you on how to go about pruning.

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Joy of Pruning

  1. Pinataasan ko yung perimeter fence namin with steel matting kasi tabi ng kalsada. Can you suggest climbers that could cover the steel matting? I am thinking of buying pots and just hook them on the wall.

    Like

  2. Hi arlene, for perimeter fences, you can’t go wrong with bougainvillea. you cant hang it from the matting but its the best perimeter climber with a built-in protection against thieves with their thorns. We had a neighbor that had lush bougainvillea in their fence that turned to be planted in simple pots and then trained to go up. Very beautiful specially during summer when they bloom.

    If you want those pots that you can hook into the steel matting, try pothos and basket plant but they trail down than climb up. For climbers you can try yellow bells or dama de noche.

    Like

  3. Will try to do that Jong. I’ve seen some hanging pots at ACE Hardware. I used to have pothos too but for some reasons, nawala. It used to climb the Thai bamboo which we replaced. Thanks!

    Like

  4. Best of luck with that.

    You can also try this but I assume it will take some years before you reach the lushness of the one in the picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Maiden’s jealousy (Tristellateia australasiae).

    Ill go to QC Circle tomorrow, I’ll keep my eyes open for other options. Also, if you can, they do have planted pots already that you can already hang in your matting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment